Hope for the Future

It was about a year ago I started writing. It was mainly to speak up for my friends who were expelled from the Church of Christ for such shallow reasons. They asked questions and shared posts. For those, they were excommunicated. Someone asked me a few posts ago if I still feel the same way from when I started this. Because, to be honest, I never considered myself a “Defender“. I was one who observed “from the edge”.  I think I would say NO. Watching and looking at what is happening, I have absolutely changed.

Screen Shot 2016-07-17 at 00.45.31Screen Shot 2016-03-19 at 6.04.26 AM

Many of us watched the video of that German brother who was told to spy on his own wife; we watched that young sister who was expelled along with her parents and the minister did not even have the decency to turn around and tell her why; and many of us heard and were in attendance for the Matt Pareja lecture on how EVM’s mother and siblings turned to “the dark side” but later on that very week it was he who was caught by the FBI  for illegally carrying tons of cash. And I dug around myself to find all these little mysterious  business ventures of the Church. So if you ask me again, I definitely have changed my point of view.

Am I now a full fledged “Defender”? Perhaps not. But I sure am NOT One with EVM’s Thumb! Not while my friends are not reinstated. And it looks like it may be a while because more and more are being kicked out. Worship Services in California are a bit longer than other places because they have to constantly read names of entire families being expelled.

So as we end this year, I want to talk about something different today. I realised that a lot of my posts may have an angry and disappointed tone. Let’s be clear about this: My blog is not about anger nor hate nor division. My message is about HOPE. I want to be hopeful. I want to look forward to a day that the Church will be righted in its course. I wish that someday soon there will be a miracle that will happen and this nightmare will come to an end.

I pray for my friends to return and ka Erdy’s family will be reinstated to their rightful place. I wait for that day when those in the Council will be gone and be replaced by honest ministers who will not be bribed; ministers who do not accept gifts for favours. I pray for Ministers who will have integrity and not be involved in all kinds of underhanded dealings or money making schemes. I ask God to bring back Ministers who just want to visit our homes to see how we are doing, give uplifting advice and pray for our family instead of pushing for more offerings and guests.

I pray for the residents of 36 Tandang Sora. I hope they are all safe and well. As well as they can be. God please help them to keep strong.

I would like to see  that humble Church I once saw which was not concerned with breaking World Records and showing how many politicians greet us. I long for that day when the Church is just about inspired lessons blessed with the Spirit and not about how we have to constantly PROVE we are loyal to our human leader. Maybe one day soon our Worship Services will be spiritual again.

I pray for that day when brethren will once again truly love one another instead of being suspicious of each other of being “Defenders”; when we can see each other at the chapel and not wonder if we are being “watched”. I look forward to the day when we are not taught to spy on our own family members but to take care of each other in love.

And I plead to the Father that we could have a leader again who will care for all the Church members. One who would actually talk to those who may have questions; one who is willing to reach out to those who are on the verge of falling; one who would have sincere concern for all brethren.

I believe someday we will see that Church again. It is not far off. I pray that all these things will happen.

Pray for that day to happen. Soon.

 

“Lord, you have heard what the poor want.
Listen to their prayers, and do what they ask.
Protect the orphans and those who have been hurt.
Don’t let powerful people drive us from our land!”
Psalm 10:17-18

 

 

6 thoughts on “Hope for the Future

  1. Just like other true INC members, I wholeheartedly agree with you in firmly believing that there is hope for the INC and the most effective way to realize this is through God’s help. That is why I have started my own daily devotional prayer to God to bring back the INC to its pristine condition en route to its ultimate destination, the promised Holy City. I cannot think of a better way to encourage all those concerned for the welfare of the INC than to cite the following verses:
    Teaching about Prayer (Matthew 6:6-15 Good News Translation)
    6 But when you pray, go to your room, close the door, and pray to your Father, who is unseen. And your Father, who sees what you do in private, will reward you.
    7 “When you pray, do not use a lot of meaningless words, as the pagans do, who think that their gods will hear them because their prayers are long. 8 Do not be like them. Your Father already knows what you need before you ask him. 9 This, then, is how you should pray:
    ‘Our Father in heaven:
    May your holy name be honored;
    10 may your Kingdom come;
    may your will be done on earth as it is in heaven.
    11 Give us today the food we need.
    12 Forgive us the wrongs we have done,
    as we forgive the wrongs that others have done to us.
    13 Do not bring us to hard testing,
    but keep us safe from the Evil One.’
    14 “If you forgive others the wrongs they have done to you, your Father in heaven will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others, then your Father will not forgive the wrongs you have done.

    Like

  2. Thank you for your enlightened writings this year, I know they have given sanity to many just by knowing that we are not alone in how we feel & that someone like yourself is our voice during these difficult times.

    I too pray for the future of the INC, I hope for a time that we are no longer skeptical of ulterior motives in each activity, I hope for peace between brothers & sisters without fear of expulsion & lastly I hope for the Holy Spirit to once again fill each house of worship & fill the hearts of all those who seek it.

    Like

  3. Your articles have brought enlightenment and clarity to an often crazy world. The end-of-year reflection that is so common at this time often reminds us of the “Why?” we do things. If anger were the only reason, I’m sure you would have quit a long time ago, like so many other bloggers.
    Keep writing, dear friend. Keep examining our world with your gift of vision. I will keep reading.
    Happy New Year to you and those you love.
    Bro Nico

    Like

  4. I’m sorry, but I’m not as optimistic as you are INCfromtheEdge. Let’s be real, the Church will NEVER be what it use to be. NEVER. Yeah, yeah, never say never. But really, how is this vision going to happen? We will need to take out the current Administration and replace it with another that everyone trusts, on both sides! The reality is the Church will transform… is transforming, into something else. Something I and many others do not want to be part of. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but this is reality and we must all face it.

    Like

    1. You should be very optimistic because we have God on our side. Unless you no longer believe in what God can do? No hope, no faith, no trust.

      The Church’s reality is unknown for now. Not you or me or anyone else can conclude that this is it. The How, the When, the What, God will take care of all of that. Our task is to expose the corruption & to stand by the truth, leave everything else to God.
      Our God & Jesus Christ is the owner of this Church, the promise is that they will not abandon this church. God will put everything in order, will there be 2sides? Yes, God’s side or Satan’s side.
      Have love, have faith, have hope, have trust.

      Like

    2. Agree with you 100% …. it isn’t going to change until Eduardo is no longer here. And even after his son Angelo (I assume) takes over the leadership I’m still not sure if it is going to change. It has certainly become a cult and many it’s members are under more and more pressure these days.

      Let’s say if I was the executive minister I will focus solely on repairing the mental damage that Eduardo and company has done. Also with the people in 36 TS avenue I’d leave them alone and let them get on with their own lives. Remember there is a verse John 13:34 NIV – A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

      The next thing is the worship service lessons and even some of the hymns. Less about the administration and more about the true teachings of God. Isn’t this the Church of Christ? …. then why are the lessons so focused on (obedience to) the administration, offerings plus pointless scare tactics. We should be obeying only the teachings of God and lord Jesus Christ. Also unjust expulsions will be eliminated and if people want to leave the church they will have a choice. I want people to feel a lot more secure and comfortable in the worship service today and also want them to share their faith.

      Offering Money. The only offerings will be during the worship service, no more special offerings. I’d look into expanding the church worldwide even more by buying buildings so people can go in and worship. There are so many so called group worship services held in the living rooms of people’s homes and many people outside the Philippines don’t even know about this church because there is clearly no marked chapels around. This needs to become a worldwide church, with English as it’s first language.

      Like

Leave a Reply

