On Judging

John 8:7
“So when they continued asking Him, He raised Himself up and said to them, ‘He who is without sin among you, let him throw a stone at her first’.”

I always keep this verse in mind. Because it is such a profound reminder that we all sin and that none of us are truly worthy. I write this because I remember those who were expelled. I look at the District Ministers & Ministers and I know that they play a big part in expulsions. Let me be clear on this, I AM NOT judging the Ministers. But they are in the position to either expel or help the brethren. The District & Resident Ministers sin too. But I ask where is the compassion? I say this because there was compassion on them when they sinned. I am not talking about little curse words that slipped from their lips. As I said, I am not judging them, but there are District Ministers (without naming them) who have had major cases.

I write this to call attention to the current District Ministers. Let it be a reminder that you too transgress.
– To the one who almost left his wife for another woman.
– To the one who was so drunk that his former District Minister had to drag him home and covered up for him.
– To the one who was so into drugs that his nostrils are now damaged.
– To the one(s) who accepted those nice thick envelopes for the promise of being supported come election time.
– To the one who brought back those Balikbayan boxes. Enjoy the iPads.
– To the one who got that nice jeep for the Iglesia vote.envelope-of-money
Need I go on?
Some may be sweating now, hoping I would not mention their past transgressions. There are many more. But my point is, as Jesus said, “He who is without sin, throw the first stone.” Why then be so vicious in reporting the brethren? For what? “posting on Facebook?” Is that a bigger offence than the ones the I previously mentioned? I always remember the verse, “Whoever breaks one commandment is guilty of breaking them all.” Let me repeat, I am not judging the Ministers on their past iniquities. But if you were shown mercy for those things you did in the past, would you not show mercy on the brethren now? Yes, I too commit sin. But I am not in the position to condemn and expel others. Do you not have the skill, the talent or the spiritual gift to advise and teach the brethren that they may see? Why be so quick to judge and expel? This is why I feel so strongly about the expulsions. Such harsh decisions that they are making.

So harsh is the condemnation that they brutally include the children of the brethren. It does not matter if they are young and not baptized or they are teenagers, they too, will be condemned through the bitter experience of expulsion from the Church.  Does it not say:

“Parents are not to be put to death for their children, nor children put to death for their parents; each will die for their own sin.”

Why then are the entire families being judged and expelled? Where is the justice in this?
So in closing, I will just quote a verse:
Matthew 7:1-5
 “Do not judge, or you too will be judged. For in the same way you judge others, you will be judged, and with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye? How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when all the time there is a plank in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye.”

Leave a Reply

